Accreditation - Programs and sites


The Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ) is legally responsible for ensuring the quality of the education received by physicians entering practice.

The CMQ’s Medical Education Division (MED) uses the accreditation process to assess whether professional education criteria are being applied in postgraduate training. These criteria concern governance as well as the structure and academic content of the programs developed under the auspices of Quebec’s faculties of medicine. They were established jointly by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (Royal College) and the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC).

Together with the Committee on Medical Education and Accreditation (CMEA), the CMQ is also responsible for continuing professional development (CPD) accreditation for Quebec’s faculties of medicine. In addition, the CMQ provides individual accreditation for other medical bodies.

The MED conducts survey visits on a cyclical basis of postgraduate programs in Quebec’s four faculties of medicine as well as of faculty units and organizations responsible for continuing professional development (CPD). 

The purpose of this exercise is to support universities and organizations in achieving objectives of excellence in education for all students, residents, fellows and physicians.

All accredited postgraduate medical education programs and institutions are listed in the List of accreditations, which is updated after each meeting of the comité des études médicales et de l'agrément (Committee on Medical Education and Accreditation).

A table lists the postgraduate programs offered by each of Quebec’s faculties of medicine.

Application for the addition of a training site

As of January 1, 2016, the form Application for the addition of a training site for a residency program clinical rotation must be used, irrespective of the duration of the clinical rotation.

Assistant-deans are asked to approve the application and make themselves accountable by confirming that the site complies with standards A and B of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

For the use of the same training site, for the same program, by more than one faculty:
The associate deans of the two faculties concerned must first conclude an agreement and inform the CMQ thereof.

N. B. All applications must be submitted to the CMEA.

Application to have a postgraduate training program’s accreditation status modified

Since the accreditation process has been harmonized, the Associate Dean must contact either the CFPC  or the Royal College

Accreditation reform
  • Réforme du processus d’agrément des programmes de formation et des unités de développement professionnel continu (in French)
    (article de la Direction des études médicales, octobre 2016)
  • Aligning Accreditation with 21st century best practices
    CanRAC Web site: The Canadian Residency Accreditation Consortium (CanRAC), which is comprised of the three accrediting residency colleges in Canada: Royal College, CFPC and CMQ.

Last update: April 5, 2017